The ACC regular season is over and the ACC tournament is set to begin on Tuesday. Ahead of the start of the conference tournament, the ACC released the yearly conference awards Monday afternoon, including Coach of the Year, All-ACC team, All-Defensive team and All-Freshman team.

First off, to little surprise, Pitt’s Jeff Capel was named ACC Coach of the Year. This comes after Capel started the year on the hot seat before ramping it up in conference play, finishing the season 5th in the ACC. The Panthers were able to do so without 4-star freshman Dior Johnson, who was suspended from the team earlier in the season after pleading guilty to misdemeanor assault.

Isaiah Wong out of Miami was named the ACC Player of the Year, and for good reason. Wong was one of the best guards in the country this past regular season and could do it all for the Hurricanes. He averaged 15.9 points, 3.4 assists and 1.4 steals per game all while leading Miami to a 1-seed in the ACC Tournament.

Virginia’s Reece Beekman was named Defensive Player of the Year while Pitt’s Nike Sibande was named the 6th Man of the Year. The conference also announced 1st, 2nd and 3rd All-ACC teams, as well as the All-Defensive and All-Freshman teams.

Below are the selections for 1st team All-ACC, All-Defensive team and All-Freshman team.

1st Team All-ACC

  • Isaiah Wong, Miami
  • Armando Bacot, North Carolina
  • Tyree Appleby, Wake Forest
  • Hunter Tyson, Virginia
  • Jamarius Burton, Pitt

All-Defensive Team

  • Reece Beekman, Virginia
  • Jesse Edwards, Syracuse
  • Leaky Black, North Carolina
  • Dereck Lively II, Duke
  • Kihei Clark, Virginia

All-Freshman Team

  • Kyle Filipowski, Duke
  • Judah Mintz, Syracuse
  • Tyrese Proctor, Duke
  • JJ Starling, Notre Dame
  • Dereck Lively II, Duke

Below you can find the 2nd and 3rd All-ACC teams as well.