Clemson has 6 players on the preseason All-ACC team, which was released on Wednesday afternoon.

Three of those players come on the defensive side of the ball: defensive end Myles Murphy, defensive tackle Bryan Bresee and linebacker Trenton Simpson.

Offensively, Clemson running back Will Shipley and offensive tackle Jordan McFadden both made the cut. Kicker BT Potter rounded out the Tigers’ ACC-leading 6 selections.

Murphy, Bresee and Simpson also received votes to be preseason ACC Player of the Year, but the award was won by NC State quarterback Devin Leary.

While Clemson did lead the conference in selections, there is one major snub: safety Andrew Mukuba. He is coming off a freshman All-American season and is expected to lead the Tigers’ secondary this season after starting cornerbacks Mario Goodrich and Andrew Booth Jr. departed for the NFL.

Mukuba recorded 47 tackles and 7 pass deflections last season. He was likely a victim of the format — only 4 defensive backs were chosen for preseason All-ACC. Florida State’s Jammie Robinson and NC State’s Tanner Ingle earned the safety spots above Mukuba.

Clemson opens the 2022 season with Georgia Tech on Sept. 5.