Florida State is Omaha bound. FSU, the No. 8 national seed in the NCAA Tournament, completed a sweep of UConn on Saturday to punch its ticket to the College World Series.

The Seminoles clobbered UConn 24-4 in Friday’s Game 1. Saturday’s Game 2 went much differently. The Noles needed 12 innings to come away with a 10-8 victory, clinching the Tallahassee Super Regional.

UConn took a 7-6 lead after a 3-run 6th inning. After a quiet 7th inning, Florida State tied it up in the 8th inning and went up 8-7 in the top of the 9th inning.

The Huskies, though, weren’t ready to give up. UConn managed a run in its last at-bat, pushing the game to extra innings.

Both the 10th and 11th innings were scoreless. Due to the quirks of the NCAA Tournament, FSU was the away team Saturday in Tallahassee. In the top of the 12th inning, the Seminoles took a 10-8 lead on a 2-run homer from James Tibbs.

Tibbs was FSU’s Game 2 MVP. The 12th-inning blast was his third 2-run jack of the day. He finished 5-for-6 with 6 RBIs in the game. He also homered in the 3rd and the 5th innings.

On the mound, FSU used 5 hurlers. Jamie Arnold was the game’s starter, going 5.1 innings, allowing 6 runs (5 earned) on 7 hits, striking out 9 batters without issuing a walk.

After UConn’s 9th-inning solo homer, FSU skipper Link Jarrett turned to Conner Whittaker. Whittaker went the distance, going 3.2 scoreless innings, allowing just 1 hit while striking out 3.

For Florida State, it’s the first trip to the College World Series under Jarrett. The Noles last went to Omaha in 2019 under the legendary Mike Martin, who passed away earlier this year.