Ken Dorsey had a record-setting career during his time at Miami. Now, he’s 1 of 3 Hurricanes on the 2024 ballot for the College Football Hall of Fame.

Dorsey was included with a pair of Hurricane defenders and head coach Larry Coker on the ballot released by the National Football Foundation. 78 players and 9 head coaches were placed on the ballot.

Here are the Miami connections on the ballot:

  • Jerome Brown, DT, 1983-86
  • Ken Dorsey, QB, 1999-2002
  • Darrin Smith, LB, 1989-92
  • Larry Coker, head coach, 2001-06

During his 3 seasons as Miami’s primary starting QB, Dorsey and the Hurricanes went 35-2 with a pair of BCS bowl wins. That includes the 2001 national championship with a dominant Rose Bowl victory over Nebraska.

Dorsey nearly led the program to back-to-back national titles but the Hurricanes ultimately lost to Ohio State in the 2002 Fiesta Bowl. That game remains a controversial topic due to a late penalty after the game appeared to be decided. Dorsey still holds the Hurricane program record with 86 passing touchdowns and is second on the all-time passing list with 9,565 yards.

Brown was a member of Miami’s 1983 national championship squad and became a consensus All-American for the Hurricanes in 1986. He quickly developed into an All-Pro performer in the NFL before he passed away in a tragic automobile accident at the age of 27.

Smith was a part of 2 national championships at Miami during the 1989 and 1991 seasons. He was a Second-team ALl-American selection during the 1991 and 1992 seasons and the co-Defensive Player of the Year in the Big East for the 1991 season.

During his time as head coach at Miami, Coker led the Hurricanes to a 60-15 overall record and a 4-2 record in bowl games. Coker guided the program to back-to-back BCS National Championship appearances, including the 2001 national title with a win in the Rose Bowl.

Coker’s tenure with the Hurricanes started with a 24-1 overall record and a 35-3 overall record from 2001-03. Miami reached 9+ wins 5 times under Coker. Since his final season in 2006, the Hurricanes have reached 9 wins just 4 times.