NC State has cut down the nets just twice before, once in 1974 under the iconic Norm Sloan and once again in 1983 under equally iconic Jim Valvano.

Valvano led the Wolfpack to a cinderella run at the title, downing a heavy-favorite Houston team so full of talent it’s almost silly. Phi Slama Jama, as they were called, featured NBA greats such as Clyde Drexler and Hakeem Olajuwon. Still, the Cougars fell to Valvano’s Wolfpack, the No. 6 seed, on a last second putback dunk from Lorenzo Charles, prompting Valvano’s famous run to nowhere upon winning the title.

Wednesday night, NC State will honor the 1983 champs in their home matchup against Wake Forest. NC State will also be wearing throwback uniforms to honor the team:

The Wolfpack are on the right track to make it back to the tournament for the first time since 2018. Kevin Keatts’ squad, featuring star Terquavion Smith, sits at 21-7 on the year with notable wins over Duke, Miami and rival North Carolina.

Wednesday’s game is set for tip-off at 9 p.m.