Payton Wilson had a huge season for the NC State Wolfpack, and on Friday night, he picked up one of the top awards in college football.

The Wolfpack defender received the Chuck Bednarik award, given annually by the Maxwell Football Club to the outstanding defensive player of the year in college football.

It’s been a busy couple of days for Wilson, the ACC Defensive Player of the Year, who earlier won the 2023 Butkus Award, which recognizes the top defensive linebacker in college football.

AnAll-ACC selection, Wilson led the league and ranked 5th in the FBS in tackles with 138 and tackles per game at 11.5 per contest. He was also the league leader in tackles-for-loss with 17.5, the sixth-most in all of FBS. He also notched 6 sacks, 10 pass breakups, one forced fumble, 2 fumble recoveries, and 3 interceptions, with one for a pick-6.

Wilson received the award after he was named a finalist alongside Alabama LB Dallas Turner and UCLA defensive lineman Laiatu Latu. He was the first Bednarik finalist for the Wolfpack since Bradley Chubb in 2017.